STMAinaction

2010 Field of the Year Award winners

he STMA Field of the Year Award program began in 1992. There are five field types for which awards may be given: Baseball, Football, Soccer, Softball and Sporting Grounds. For each field type, awards may be given in three categories: Professional, College and University, and Schools and Parks. This year there were a total of nine awards presented.

A panel of six judges independently scored each entry based on the playability and appearance of the playing surfaces, innovative solutions employment, effective use of budget, and the development and implementation of a comprehensive, sound agronomic program. The STMA Awards Committee includes Chair Martin Kaufman, CSFM; Steve Bush, CSFM; Jeff Fowler; Andrew Gossel; Allen Johnson, CSFM; and Tim VanLoo, CSFM. These judges come from all segments of STMA membership and represent some of the finest facilities in all of America.

"As always, evaluating this year's applicant pool was very difficult," says Martin Kaufman, CSFM, STMA Awards Committee Chairman. "The quality of the applicants each year continues to improve and the winners this year were truly deserving.'

'The Field of the Year Award validates the intense dedication of our members," says Kim Heck, CEO of the Sports Turf Managers Association, the sponsoring organization of the award. "Each year STMA awards no more than 14 Fields of the Year, so a very small percentage of our members are winners.

2010 Field of the Year Award Winners: Baseball

- Schools and Parks Glen Allen Stadium; Glen Allen, VA; Vince Henderson
- College and University Benedictine University; Lisle, IL; Kari Allen, CSFM
- Professional Arvest Ballpark; Springdale, AR; Monty Sowell

Football

• Schools and Parks – North Scott Community Football Field; Eldridge, IA; John Netwal, CGCS

Soccer

- Schools and Parks Atlee High School-Raider Stadium; Mechanicsville, VA; Marc Moran
 - College and University Cobb Stadium; Coral Gables, FL; Chris Denson
 - Professional Columbus Crew Stadium; Columbus, OH; Brett Tanner

Softball

- Schools and Parks NKC District Softball Field; North Kansas City, MO; John Watt,
 - College Benedictine University; Lisle, IL; Kari Allen, CSFM

Recognition for winners includes registration to the annual STMA Conference and Exhibition, three nights lodging, and signature clothing for the award winners and their staff. The winning fields will also be featured in a 2011 article in SportsTurf magazine, the industry's premier publication.

Award winners will be presented with their award during the Annual Awards Banquet on Fri., Jan. 14, 2011, which is held every year at the Annual STMA Conference and Exhibition. The 22nd Annual STMA Conference and Exhibition is January 11-15, 2011 at the Austin Convention Center and Hilton Austin in Austin, TX.

2010 SAFE Scholarship Winners

he Foundation for Safer Athletic Fields for Everyone (SAFE) was created to provide research, educational programs, and scholarships geared to sports field specific endeavors. It is the dream-child of the nation's only association for the sports turf industry, the STMA. The level of scholarship funding has steadily increased since the scholarship programs inception in 1999 and in 2010 we awarded \$12,500 to nine recipients in two-year, four-year, and graduate level categories. Since the scholarship program's beginning, SAFE has awarded more than \$175,000 in scholarship and travel to the STMA Conference and Exhibition.

Graduate Scholarships

Dr. James Watson Graduate Scholarship, \$2,500 Tom Serensits, Penn State

SAFE Graduate Scholarship, \$1,500 Matthew Williams, Ohio State

Four Year Scholarships

Dr. James Watson Undergraduate Scholarship, \$2,250 Chase Straw, Kentucky

SAFE Undergraduate Scholarship, \$1,250 George Peters, Penn State

SAFE Undergraduate Scholarships, \$1,000 Julie Adamski, Penn State, Jolynda Rolli, Penn State, Alexander Steinman, Penn State

Two Year Scholarships

Dr. Fred Grau Memorial Scholarship, \$1,000 Tyler Carter, Michigan State

SAFE Two Year Scholarship, \$1,000 Shaun Eberhart, Kirkwood Community College

A panel of seven judges independently scored each entry based on each student's academic preparation, experience in the sports turf management industry, professional goals, extracurricular activities, and input from academic advisors and employers. Each student also wrote an essay describing his or her background and career aspirations.

The TORO Foundation provides generous support for the Dr. James Watson Scholarship winners. Jacobsen supports the SAFE Scholarship Program through the SAFE/Jacobsen Golf Tournament held at the STMA Conference each year. The program is also supported through individual and corporate donations made throughout the year and proceeds from the Live and Silent Auctions and raffle held each year on the STMA Trade Show Floor. These sponsors fund a stipend for each recipient to attend the STMA annual conference (including lodging) and a scholarship ranging from \$1,000 to \$2,500.

Scholarship recipients had their financial aid mailed directly to their university, with a check made out jointly to them and their schools financial aid office. The students will be recognized during the Annual STMA Awards Banquet January 14, 2011 at the 22nd Annual STMA Conference and Exhibition held in Austin, TX.