STMA in action



▲ 2014 STMA Board of Directors L to R: Jeff Salmond, CSFM; Jeffrey Fowler; Phil McQuade; Tim Van Loo, CSFM; Sarah Martin, CSFM; Andrew Gossel; Mike Tarantino, CSFM; James Graff; President David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP; Bradley Jakubowski; Immediate Past President James Michael Goatley, Jr., PhD; President-Elect Allen Johnson, CSFM; and Doug Schattinger.

Meet the 2014 STMA Board of Directors

The 2014 Board of Directors took office January 23 during the STMA Annual Meeting, which was held in conjunction with the association's annual conference in San Antonio. STMA's new President, David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP made two appointments, as required by the bylaws, as his first official duty of the office.

Elected to the board were:

President, David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP, Town of Lexington, MA President-Elect, Allen Johnson, CSFM, Green Bay Packers, Green Bay, WI Immediate Past President, James Michael Goatley, Jr., PhD, Virginia Tech,

Blacksburg, VA, Vice President Commercial, James Graff, Graff's Turf Farms, Ft. Morgan, CO Secretary/Treasurer Leff Salmond, CSEM, University of Oklahoma

Secretary/Treasurer, Jeff Salmond, CSFM, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK

Director representing Higher Education, Tim Van Loo, CSFM, Iowa State University, Ames, IA

Director representing Parks & Recreation, Sarah Martin, CSFM, City of Phoenix, AZ

Director representing the Academic category, Jeffrey Fowler, Penn State Cooperative Extension, Franklin, PA

Elected-at-Large Director, Bradley Jakubowski, Doane College, Crete, NE

The Directors who are fulfilling their second year of their terms are:

Professional facilities category, Phil McQuade, Kroenke Sports Enterprise/Colorado Rockies, Commerce City, CO

Schools K-12 Andrew Gossel, Covenant Christian High School, Indianapolis, IN

Those appointed to the Board include:

Appointed Director At-Large Mike Tarantino, CSFM, Poway Unified School District, Poway, CA

Commercial Director Doug Schattinger, Pioneer Manufacturing, Cleveland, OH

Officers serve one year terms; Directors serve 2-year terms. STMA conducts its annual elections electronically in late November.

STMA'S Silver Anniversary Conference experiences record international growth

The Sports Turf Managers Association, 2,600 members strong, hosted the 25th annual Conference & Exhibition in San Antonio Tex. with nearly 1,600 attendees and 164 exhibitors from eight countries. The crowd included sports turf managers, academics, and other industry professionals from across the globe converging on a sometimes-icy but never boring San Antonio to celebrate the profession.

The 5-day event featured seminars, lectures, general sessions and exhibits from sports turf and environmental science leaders in 11 conference tracts: agronomic, construction / renovation, facility management, industry developments, pest control, professional development, safety, synthetic and water.

"Our annual Conference brings heightened awareness to the sports turf profession and the individuals who provide safe playing surfaces for millions of athletes every day," says **David Pinsonneault, CSFM, CPRP**, newly elected STMA President and Public Grounds Superintendent for the Town of Lexington, MA. "We hope the educational experiences and best practices shared throughout the week will be implemented in communities across the nation to enhance safety and quality in sports fields."

The Foundation for Safer Athletic Fields (SAFE), STMA's charitable foundation, raised more than \$30,000 during the conference through its Jan. 21 golf tournament at The Republic Golf Club; Jan. 22 "Casino Night" with close to 70 players; and silent and live auctions throughout the week. Proceeds benefit educational programs, scholarships and grants with the goal of enriching communities through safe, sustainable sports and recreation fields for all athletes. The golf hole in one sponsor was Carolina Green.

STMA Conference sponsors included Arysta LifeScience; Barenbrug USA; Covermaster; Diamond Pro; Hunter Industries; John Deere; Toro; and World Class Athletic Surfaces. A big thank you to all sponsors for their continued supported of the association and sports turf managers nationwide.

Next year's event will be held in Denver, January 13-16, 2015. Additional future sites include San Diego (2016); Orlando (2017) and Fort Worth, TX (2018).

Founders Award winners

Friday night's Awards Banquet was topped off with a presentation of the industry's most prestigious awards, STMA's Founders Awards, with a special guest: one of the founders, Dick Ericson, was on hand to say a few words about his time with a growing STMA and to co-present the award with last year's winner, Amy Fouty. Honored were: Dick Ericson Award – **Rich Watson**, Pine Hill Schools in New Jersey; George Toma "Golden Rake" Award – **Matt Tobin**, Pioneer Athletics; Dr. William H. Daniel Award – **Brad Fresenburg, PhD**, University