STMA in action

Finn, Kevin Mathias, Ph.D., Brian McDougal, Joel Rieker, Brian Scott, Tom Serensits, John Sorochan, Ph.D., Tim VanLoo, CSFM, Lynda Wightman

Technical Standards Committee

Chair: A.J. Powell, Jr., Ph.D. Members: Patrick Berger, TJ Brewer, CSFM, Richard Campey, Skip Filanowski, Beth Guertal,

Ph.D., Kevin Hansen, Jeffrey Hartman, William J. McBride, Sr., Andrew McNitt, Ph.D., Ed Norton, Robert Oppold, Steven Smith, Tony Strickland, CSFM, Gary Tubesing, Adam Thoms

Turfgrass Curriculum Committee

Chair: Jeff Fowler Members: Chad Follis, Mike Goatley, Jr., Ph.D., Bill Griffith, Mar-

tin Kaufman, CSFM, Nick McKenna, CSFM, Marc Moran, CSFM

Website Committee

Chair: Pam Sherratt Members: Josh Bertrand, Patrick Coakley, CSFM, Jason Demink, CSFM, Sam Doak, Ronn Ponath, Jim Reiner, Joe Rodocker, Sun Roesslein, Zach Severns

STMA & SAFE Report Audit Findings

STMA and its charitable arm, The SAFE Foundation, undergo an annual audit, which is conducted by an independent auditing firm. In 2013, STMA changed auditors after 5 years with the same firm, a practice recommended in the corporate world. STMA adopted that practice to insure the highest level of transparency and confidence in its results for its membership.

Pickett, Chaney & McMullen, LLP, (PCM) completed its work in June and reported the results to the STMA and SAFE Boards in July. The opinion of PCM confirms that STMA uses accepted accounting practices, has a solid financial basis, and has no evidence of fraud. "In our opinion, the combined financial statements present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of Sports Turf Managers Association and Affiliate as of Dec. 31, 2012, and the changes in its net assets and its cash flows for the year then ended in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America," stated Chris Chaney.

STMA	2012
Revenues, Gains and Other Support: Expenses	\$ 1,154,399 \$ 1,134,509 \$ 19,890
SAFE Revenues, Gains and Other Support: Expenses	\$37,279 \$42,627
	\$(5,348)

For more detailed information, contact STMA headquarters, 800-323-3875.

STMA announces Minor League Sports Turf Manager of the Year winners

STMA and Minor League Baseball (MiLB) are pleased to report the winners of the annual MiLB Sports Turf Manager of the Year awards. Each league in MiLB conducts a survey to select their league's sports turf manager winner. These surveys include input from nearly 30 different stakeholders rating these STMA members on 11 different criteria. These winners subsequently submit an application to the STMA, and a panel of independent judges rates them on a variety of criteria including staff, budget, events, cultural practices, game day routine, plus field safety and other factors.

The MiLB and STMA are pleased to announce the following winners:

AAA—Chris Ball, Gwinnett Braves, International League

AA—Brock Phipps, Springfield Cardinals, Texas League

A-Keith Winter, Ft. Wayne TinCaps, Midwest League

Short Season or Rookie—Bryan Barkley, Connecticut Tigers, New York-Penn League

STMA CEO Kim Heck presented these winners with their awards during the Baseball Winter Meetings, MiLB Annual Awards Luncheon, December 9, 2013 in Orlando.

Gwinnett Braves' Coolray Field

