STMAinaction

First-ever Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant Presented by SAFE



ddie Atherton of the City of Owensboro, KY has received the first Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant, awarded by The SAFE Foundation, STMA's philanthropic arm. This \$1,000 grant is funded through a generous donation from Turface

The grant funded a portion of the Atherton's attendance at the STMA Conference last month, where he was recognized at the association's annual Awards Banquet. In addition to the cash grant, SAFE funded a free conference registration.

The grant is named in honor of the late Terry Mellor, the brother of Red Sox Director of Grounds David Mellor, who died at the age of 43. He was very involved in his community and was named volunteer of the year for the state of Wisconsin for the Special Olympics. He was a strong supporter of continuing education and this grant honors his passion.

The STMA scholarship Committee, who judges the SAFE Scholarship winners each year, selected Atherton based on a letter of recommendation. The letter was sent in by Marcus Dean, CSFM, from the University of Kentucky and the Kentucky Chapter's President, who cited Atherton's "dedication, efficiency and attitude," in his letter.

This grant will be offered again for the 2011 STMA Conference in Austin, TX. Please keep an eye out for the nomination form and more information by mid-2010. ■

New Membership Pins

At the STMA recent conference, STMA unveiled its Membership Pin Program and distributed membership pins to recognize those members who have supported STMA for 5 years, 10 years, 15 years, 20 years and 25 years. If your years of support are in between, i.e. 8 years, you will receive the 5-year pin. Pins will be mailed in February to those who were unable to attend the conference. Thank you for your continued support of STMA. We sincerely appreciate it!



Celebrating 8 years of membership!

THANK YOU to these members who joined STMA in 2002. We appreciate your continued support of STMA, and look forward to your continued membership with us!

Ron Adams
Mike Albino
Dave Anderson
Whitey Anderson
Mark Bachmann
Gary Ballingham
Ron Barendt
Mark Berry
Pat Berger, CGCS
Karsten Blackwelder
Rick Bold, CSFM
TJ Brewer
George Brothers
Mark Brown
Scott Burt
Chris Casper
Eddie Chittom
Bob Christofferson
Webb Cook
Sean Connell
Ken Curry
Marty Curtis
Mike Davis
James Dobmeier
Julius Dobiliciel

Joel Eaton **Greg Engle** Jess Evans Eric Ferland Jim Fox Ian Fulp **Thomas Garner** Steve Gnall **Andrew Gossel** Mark Grigg Robert Harding Mark Hall Mike Hebrard **Bo Henley** Thomas Hertzel **Donald Hester** Al Hicks Blake Hoerr Fred Hoge **Andrew Hoiberg** Christopher Holenstein Ron Hostick, CSFM Mark Janz Michael Johanson

Greg Johnson Justin Johnson Pierce Key **Erin Kiney** Josh Klute Jon Knutson Tim Koch James Koontz, Jr. Joe Kovolyan Mark Kreikemeier **Bill Lamont** Carl Larson Frank Lasasso T.J. Lawson Timothy Legare, CSFM Leo Liebert Allen Lowrey Jean Lucero **Christopher Matlock** Nick McKenna

Christopher McNairy

Cheryl Miller

David Millet, Jr.

Paul Miskimen

David Mooney Eddie Moore Kevin Moore Marc Moran Rick Mucciaccio Steven Mulholland James Murphy, Ph.D. Eric Nelson Tony Newton Nat Nuovo Rich O'Hara Wayne Oliver Sam Paradowski Rick Perruzzi, CSFM David Pinsonneault, CSFM, **CPRP** Shawn Ray **Bart Richards** Byron Riesen Debbie Robinson Sun Roesslein

Casey Scheidel

Andy Sears

Carlos Moncada

Dale Sellner Ryan Sherwood Phil Shirk Blake Siler Jimmy Simpson, CSFM Joseph Sirgany Kim Spearman Joey Stevenson Andrew St. Julian **Bruce Suddeth** Paul Syracuse **Emory Thomas Todd Tribble** Walter Tucker Joseph Vocke Clint Waltz, Ph.D. Jack Warner Michael Weddle **Chad Wheeler** Tim Wilson Cory Wisinski Paul Young

www.stma.org SportsTurf 41