Cast your vote on STMA Bylaws

TMA voting members will be provided the opportunity to approve or reject the proposed Bylaws changes this month via a special ballot sent through the U.S. mail. The proposed changes primarily affect three main components of the Bylaws: formalizing the ascension process to the Presidency, reducing the Officers' terms, and increasing the size of the Board.

The proposed changes were formulated during 2007 and early 2008 by the Governance Task Group, chaired by Mike Trigg, CSFM, STMA Immediate Past President. The Bylaws language was subsequently written by the Bylaws Committee, chaired by Ken Mrock. The Board approved the new Bylaws language at its summer Board Meeting.

Two Officers' positions, the Secretary and the Treasurer positions, are proposed to be combined into one position, Secretary/Treasurer. This new position will have two candidates placed on the ballot, and the candidate who is elected will be on the track to the Presidency. The Secretary/Treasurer will move unopposed to the President-Elect, then to the Presidency and to the Immediate Past President, as he/she concludes Board service. Formalizing the ascension process is extremely important for a strong governance system. The Secretary/Treasurer position becomes the pivotal position that allows you to vote on the candidate who ultimately will become your association's President.

Additionally, the terms of all of the Officer positions, except the Commercial Vice President, are proposed to be reduced to one year. Currently, the Officers serve two years in each Office. STMA has matured to the point that it no longer needs to rely on a smaller group of committed volunteers for leadership. Rather, the expanded committee involvement and the strong chapter network are preparing more and more members for leadership positions at the national level.

This shortening of the terms will reduce the maximum amount of time that a board member serves from 14 to 8 years, which is still a considerable commitment. The Commercial Vice President position is ineligible to ascend to the Presidency, and a two-year term is proposed as the amount of time that is needed to gain perspective from this important segment of the membership. Director terms, except for the proposed At-Large Directors, will continue to be two-years, not to exceed a total of four years.

The proposed changes also expand the Board of Directors by two At-Large Director positions. Currently there are 12 Board members: six Officers and six Directors. The proposed combination of Secretary and Treasurer reduces the Officers to five members, and the two new At-Large Director positions bring the Board size to 13 members. Candidates from any segment of the membership are eligible to serve as an At-Large Director. Candidates running for one of the At-Large Director position will appear on the ballot. Members will cast their vote for this Director as they do for the current director positions. This position, however, does not

have to represent a specific category of membership—it can be from any category. Thus, a parks and recreation sports turf manager may be slated against an academic, or a sports turf member representing higher education may be slated against a commercial member. Any candidate slated must be a voting member of STMA. The second At-Large Director position will be appointed by the STMA President. The Governance Task Group realizes that there will be a tremendous loss to the Board of one quality board member from the Secretary/Treasurer election. Thus, they recommend that the President be given the flexibility to appoint the person who does not win to this At-Large Director position. Both At-Large Directors will serve a one-year term.

The ballot will have specific instructions on when and how to return it through the US mail, fax or electronically, so that your voting status can be verified, yet how you cast your vote is kept anonymous.

In addition to Chairman Trigg, the members of the Governance Task Group include Bob Campbell, CSFM, Richard Moffitt, Tim Moore, CSFM, Mary Owen, Scott Pippen, Jimmy Rodgers, CSFM, Bob Studholme, Jay Warnick, CSFM, and Steve Wightman.

Members of the Bylaws Committee include Chairman Mrock, Carol Baker, CSFM, Mike Boekholder, Richard Miller, Mary Owen, Scott Pippen, Jimmy Rodgers, CSFM, David Rulli, David Schlotthauer, Mike Trigg, CSFM (Board Liaison), Jay Warnick, CSFM, and Steve Wightman.

The proposed changes affect Sections V, VI, VII, and XI. To review a comparative version, please go on-line to the Members Only section of www.stma.org and click on STMA Bylaws. You can also review the SOP: STMA Officer Vacancy Ascension Process, which is referred to in the Bylaws.

Once the outcome of the vote on these proposed Bylaws is known, the STMA 2009 Board of Directors slate of candidates will be finalized. The voting members of STMA will be sent that ballot in late November and the new Board of Directors will be presented to the membership during the STMA Annual Meeting on January 15, 2009 in San José.

Wisconsin Chapter helps rebuild flooded ball diamonds

By Dan Carmichael

ports turf managers around the state of Wisconsin convened in the Village of Lake Delton on August 26 to rebuild Kaminski Park. Horrible devastation occurred in mid-June after 15 inches of rain fell in the area over several days. Lake Delton itself breached the dam and overflowed its banks carving a gully 50 yards wide