President's Message

M2MEDIA360

PRESIDENT/CEO Marion Minor **DIRECTOR OF FINANCE** Gerald Winkel CORPORATE DIRECTOR OF CIRCULATION Joanne Juda-Prainito

PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Mary Jo Tomei DIRECT MAIL LIST SALES Cheryl Naughton 770-995-4964 cnaughton@m2media360.com

Reader Service Services DIRECTOR OF READER SERVICE

Joanne Juda-Prainito Readerservice@m2media360.com

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES Phone 847-763-9565 Fax 847-763-9569

REPRINTS

Cheryl Naughton, 770-995-4964, cnaughton@m2media360.com

Advertising Sales Representatives

AK, CO, HI, ID, MT, OR, WA, WY, Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan. Steven Brackett

3906 Tecoma Dr. Crystal Lake, IL 60012 815-459-5189; 815-459-5805 (fax) sbrackett@m2media360.com

CT, DE, IN, KY, MA, MD, ME, MI, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, RI, VA, VT, WV, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Quebec and Europe.

> **Paul Garris** 35 Greenbrian Aurora, OH 44202

330-562-2512; 330-562-3512 (fax) pgarris@m2media360.com

United States: AL, AR, AZ, CA, FL, GA, LA, NC, NM, NV, OK, SC, TN, TX, UT and Mexico

Deanna Morgan

2095 Exeter Road, #80-336 Germantown, TN 38138 901-759-1241; 901-624-0333 (fax) dmorgan@m2media360.com

IA, IL, KS, MN, MO, ND, NE, SD, WI and Manitoba Colleen Murphy 1326 N. Illinois Ave. Arlington Heights, IL 60004 847-259-2835; 847-259-2836 (fax)

Classified Advertising Sales Tonya Przybylski 630-679-2061; 630-679-2062 (fax) tpriz@m2media360.com

cmmurphy88@comcast.net

PUBLISHER'S NOTICE: We Assume No Responsibility For The Validity Of Claims In Connection With Items Appearing In Sportsturf. Reader Service Numbers Are Given To Facilitate Further Inquiry. Commercial Product Names Are Used For The Convenience Of The Reader. Mention Of A Commercial Product Does Not Imply Endorsement By Sportsturf Or M2MEDIA360, Or Preference Over Similar Products Not Mentioned.

Exercise your membership right - vote!



MIKE TRIGG CSFM

mtrigg@ waukeganparks.org

ext month you will be receiving an election packet from STMA that requires some very important action on your part: casting your ballot.

The association is proposing Bylaws changes that are recommended by the Membership Committee to provide more opportunity for the association to grow. First, the sports turf manager category has been clearly defined so that it does not matter who your employer is, if you do the work of a sports turf manager, you will be in this category. That was not very clear previously, especially for those sports turf managers who work for a company.

Secondly, we have created a category for multiple sports turf managers from the same facility: Sports Turf Manager Associate. The first sports turf manager from the facility will pay full dues, the other managers from that facility will have the same voting rights and privileges, but will pay a discounted rate. Lastly, we are adding a new category so that those who work on sports fields, but not as their primary profession, (e.g., a coach, a volunteer, an athletic director), can join STMA and learn from us.

I encourage you to go to the Members-Only section of the website (www.sportsturfmanager.org) and click on Bylaws. You will see the previous Bylaws, which were ratified by the membership in 2003, and the proposed Bylaws. Your Bylaws Committee, headed by Chairman Ken Mrock, has worked tirelessly to make certain the Bylaws appropriately reflect our membership and provide a good framework to guide our association. I thank Ken and Bylaws Committee members Mike Boekholder, Dale Getz, CSFM, Carol Gundlach, CSFM, Ross Kurcab, CSFM, Richard Miller, Mary Owen, Scott Pippen, Jimmy Rodgers, CSFM, David Rulli, David Schlotthauer, John Stier, Ph.D., N. Grove Teates, Jr., Jay Warnick, CSFM, and Steve Wightman for their dedication.

In addition to voting on these proposed revisions, you will also receive in your packet the slate of candidates for the 2007 STMA Board of Directors. As you read their biographical sketches, I'm sure that you will agree that the Nominating Committee has brought forth well-qualified candidates.

Please take the time to cast your vote. For your convenience, our Bylaws allow you to return your ballot by mail, e-mail, or fax. Be sure to follow the instructions on the ballot so that your vote is valid and can be counted.

Thank you for your participation in this very important governance process.

Mike Trigg